GETTING OLD?

I’M NOW ONE OF ”US”, NOT ONE OF ”THEM”

WHOSE LUNGS ARE FILLED WITH OBSTRUCTIVE PHLEGM
AND WHO CAN SILENCE ANY PRO-ACTIVITY CRITIC
BY SHOWING MY KNEES, WHICH ARE BOTH ARTHERITIC.BUT NOW THAT I’M OBVIOUSLY NO LONGER YONG,
AM I DOING THIS “OLD STUFF” RIGHHT OR WRONG?
IN ORDER TO GET THE GIST OF IT FASTER
I’VE RECENTLY ENROLLED IN A GERONTOLOGY MASTER“HOLD ON” YOU’LL SAY, “KNOW WHERE YOU BELONG!
YOU’RE TAKING A PLACE FROM THE STUDIOUS YOUNG!”
“RUBBISH1” I SAY “I’D BE A STUDENT OF PREFERANCE,
WHO ELSE COULD USE THEIR OWN BODY AS REFERANCE?”GIVING IN TO THE YOUNG WOULD BE FOOLISH AND CRAZY,
AS AGEISM SAYS THEY ARE FAT AND LAZY!
THIS IS AN IDEA I REALLY EMBRACE
TO STUDY MYSELF AS A RELEVANT CASE.

SHOULD PEOPLE ASK ME WHICH MOTIVES I’VE GOT
I KNOW TO MYSELF WHICH I HAVE, OR HAVE NOT!
AND HONESTLY I THINK I AM EARNING
THE RIGHT TO PARTTAKE IN LIFELONG LEARNING.

WHAT I HAVE FOUND HAVING STUDIED AGE FURTHER
IS THAT WE ELDERLY GET AWAY WITH MURDER!
THREADING A NEEDLE IS A FORMIDABLE SHOW
IF YOU FINISH OFF WITH “I’M 84, YOU KNOW!”

SHOULD YOU BEND OVER TO TIE YOUR OWN SHOES
THE AUDIENCE WILL SHOWER YOU WITH “AHH”S AND “OU”S
SO ALLTHOUGH THESE EXTREMESPORTS, I’M AFRAID
WILL NOT SUFFICE TO GET YOU LAID,

WHAT I HAVE NOW, AS A FACT, COME AROUD TO
IS THAT EXPECTATIONS ARE HARD TO LIVE DOWN TO!
WHEN PEOPLE’S OPPINION, IN GENERAL, IS
THAT YOU SHOULD KEEL OVER IN A MODERATE BREEZE

THEN EXCELLENCE IS FEASABLE, AND GLORY BECONS
IF YOU GET OUT OF YOUR CHAIR IN LESS THAN TEN SECONDS!
BUT I FEEL, AS YOU GROW OLDER
YOU SHOULD STAND UP AND BE PHYSICALLY BOLDER

YOU SHOULD PULL AHEAD, LIKE A DOG ON A LEACH,
AND AIM TO FIND YOUR SPECIAL NICHE.
PERSONALLY I PERFORM ABOVE WHAT I OUGHT TO
BY TAKING MY RUNNING INTO THE WATER!

RELEAVED OF MY WEIGHT IN THIS MAGIC POTION
I’M LIKE FLO JOE GRIFFITHS, IN ULTRA SLOW MOTION.
ELLEGANT, EFFORTLESS, NEARLY COMPETETIVE
NOT WAILING IN PAIN, OR IN NEED OF A SEDATIVE.

THIS WHILE, STATISTICALLY, LET IT BE SAID,
BY WORLD LIFE-EXPECTANCY, I SHOULD BE DEAD.
THIS MAY BE MY SUNSET, BUT I STILL FEEL ITS SUNNY
SO ALL IN ALL, I’M A HAPPY BUNNY

JOINING EVENTS LIKE THESE IS A BLISS
AND SHOULD I FURTHER MY EDUCATION LIKE THIS
PERHAPS I CAN ADD TO MY PROFFESSIONAL FACADE
A DOCTORATE, ON MY LID DE PARADE?
AND EVEN HAVE FEELINGS LESS ACID AND STRONG
WHEN IT COMES TO RELATIONS WITH THOSE WHO ARE YOUNG!

Odd M Lundby

